November 13, 2019 Meeting

October 25, 2019

Please join us Wednesday Nov. 13 at the Market Garden Brewery for a fascinating presentation by Prof. Anna C. S. Samia of Case Western Reserve University. She will discuss her interdisciplinary work with nanomaterials for biomedical and environmental applications. Details:Wednesday, November 13, 2019Market Garden Brewery, Harbor Room1947 W 25th St, Cleveland, OH 44113 4:30 pm        …

Read More >

October Joint Meeting with Northeast Ohio & Akron Sections

September 29, 2019
Michael Contenza photo

Discover “Olon Ricerca Biosciences”, an experienced chemical development company located in Concord OH, just 30 miles east of downtown Cleveland off the 90. Register by Oct. 10! Speaker: Michael Contenza, General Manager, Olon Ricerca Bioscience Cleveland-NEO-Akron joint meetingWednesday October 16, 2019Olon Ricerca Biosciences7528 Auburn Rd, Concord OH 44077

Read More >

Call for nominations 2020 Morley Award

September 29, 2019
Morley Medal

The Cleveland Section annually sponsors a regional award, which consists of the Morley Medal and an honorarium of $2,000. The next presentation of the Morley Medal will take place at a meeting of the Cleveland Section ACS in May 2020. The award is presented at a banquet, at which time the recipient will deliver the…

Read More >

ACS elections to be held in October

September 27, 2019

Election of National Officers for the American Chemical Society and a ratification of a proposed constitutional amendment will be held in October. ACS election balloting will be conducted online. Ballots will be distributed Sept. 30–Oct. 2 with a voting deadline of Oct. 25. Candidates for President include H.N. Cheng, a research chemist at the US…

Read More >

Call for Nominations for the Heller-Dabrowski Award for Outstanding High School Chemistry Teacher in the Cleveland Section

September 27, 2019

The Cleveland Section of the American Chemical Society annually sponsors an award to recognize an outstanding high school chemistry teacher in the Cleveland Section. The award is named for Irene Heller of North Olmsted High School and Betty Dabrowski of Magnificat High School in recognition of their contributions as outstanding high school chemistry teachers and…

Read More >

AACT to Host Online Open House

September 5, 2019
AACT American Association of Chemistry Teachers

The American Association of Chemistry Teachers will host an online resource fair and open house on Thursday, September 12, at 7:00 PM ET.  Have you ever wondered about the benefits of being a member of the AACT? Discover how AACT membership can enhance your experience in the chemistry classroom. Everyone that attends the webinar and…

Read More >

Register for the Sept. 2019 monthly meeting

August 28, 2019
Cuyahoga River

Register to join us Sept. 18 at Creekside Restaurant & Bar in Brecksville for the September monthly meeting. The featured presentation, “Cuyahoga: From Flame to Fame” will be delivered by William Zawiski, water quality group supervisor at the Ohio EPA. Register Now >

Read More >

Don Jaworske named ACS Fellow

August 19, 2019
Don Jaworske

ACS Fellows are selected for their outstanding achievements in and contributions to science, the profession, and the Society. Don and the other 2019 ACS Fellows were announced in the July 15, 2019 issue of C&EN and will be honored at the fall ACS National Meeting in San Diego. Don retired from the NASA Glenn Research Center (GRC)…

Read More >

Cleveland Local Section to celebrate National Chemistry Week Oct. 20-26, 2019

August 13, 2019
National Chemistry Week logo with beaker

Each year the Cleveland ACS Section celebrates National Chemistry Week (NCW), Oct. 20-26, by creating an outreach Program to Cleveland area students in grades 2-5.  Our Program is intended to interest them in chemistry and the sciences.  This year’s theme (from National ACS) is Marvelous Metals.  Our NCW Planning Committee has been meeting all Spring…

Read More >

2019 Morley Award recipient named

May 30, 2019

Congratulations to Daniel A. Scherson, who was named the Morley Award’s 2019 medalist. Dr. Scherson is the Frank Hovorka Professor of Chemistry and Director of the Ernest B. Yeager Center for Electrochemical Sciences at Case Western Reserve University.

Read More >
  • Follow Us on Facebook