Councilor Notes: Fall 2023 ACS Meeting, San Francisco, CA

Candidates for ACS President-Elect are Dorothy J. Phillips and Florian Schattenmann. Biographical information may be found at ACS Election materials will be available in early October. Be sure to vote.

On the recommendation of the Committee on Nominations and Elections, and with the concurrence of the Council Policy Committee, Council approved the Petition to Add International Representation to the Board of Directors, decreasing the total number of Directors-at-Large from six to five and creating an International District Director. Following approval by the Board of Directors, the amendment to the ACS Constitution will require the support of two-thirds (2/3) majority of voting members.

On the recommendation of the Committee on International Activities, Council approved the creation of the Singapore International Chemical Sciences Chapter.

Council elected Linette M. Watkins, Arlene A. Garrison, Zaida C. Morales Martinez, Amber F. Charlebois, and Jetty L. Duffy-Matzner for a three-year term (2024-2026) on the Committee on Nominations and Elections (N&E).

Council elected Anna G. Cavinato, Andrea B. Twiss-Brooks, Thomas R. Gilbert, Jeanne R. Berk, and W. Matthew Reichert for a three-year term (2024-2026) on the Committee on Committees (ConC).

Council elected Martha G. Hollomon, Elizabeth M. Howson, Jeanette M. Van Emon, and Lydia E. M. Hines for a three-year term (2024-2026) on the Council Policy Committee (CPC).

The fall 2023 meeting was held from August 13-17. There were 15,019 registrations (13,363 in-person and 1,656 online).

Contact Mike Kenney if you have questions or comments about these points or other issues related to the national ACS.